Boris Akunin

Boris Akunin


  • A Confession
  • A Death in the Brotherhood. Novel-Film Series.
  • Aristonomia
  • Black Town
  • History of the Russian State
  • The Love of History


  • AST
  • Astrel
  • Olma
  • Zakharov
  • Zakharov Publisher
Boris Akunin is the pen name of Grigory Chkhartishvili. He is an essayist, literary translator and writer of detective fiction. 

After developing an interest in Japanese Kabuki theater, he joined the historical philological branch of the Institute of Asian and African Countries of Moscow State University as an expert on Japan. Under his pseudonym Akunin, he has written many works of fiction, mainly novels and stories in the different series: The Adventures of Erast Fandorin; The Adventures of Sister Pelagia; The Adventures of the Master (following Nicholas Fandorin, Erast’s grandson); Roman-Kino (Novel-Film) series set during World War I; and Genres (where each novel represents a different genre of fiction). 

He is also the author of several theatre plays, among them detective remakes of Hamlet and Chekhov’s Seagull. Three Fandorin novels, The Winter Queen, The Turkish Gambit and The State Counsellorand the first of Pelagia novels as well as one book of the Genres series (The Spy Thriller) were made into big-budget Russian movies. 

Akunin has been called the 'undisputed champion' of Russian crime fiction and has been translated into 35 languages and have sold a total of 25 million copies. (Source: Academia Rossica)



April 13, 2012
Boris Akunin, the Russian author of the Erast Fandorin detective series, has revealed he wrote several books under the female pseudonym Anna Borisova.

The Georgian-born writer, whose real name is Grigory Chkhartishvili, is best known internationally as Boris Akunin for his historic detective novels featuring Fandorin, a fictional 19th-Century Russian detective.